Yesway Appoints Chief Real Estate Officer

In the new formal role, Thomas W. Brown will continue to directing the chain's real estate activities, including expansion efforts.
Zachary Russell
Associate Editor
Zachary Russell profile picture
Thomas Brown Yesway

Fast-growing convenience chain Yesway has named Thomas W. Brown its new chief real estate officer.

In the new role, Brown will be responsible for directing all real estate related activities and expansions. With Brookwood Financial Partners, Brown has been “at the helm” of Yesways growth efforts.

Yesway completed the construction of 17 new stores and 21 raze-and-rebuild projects in 2022, with plans to construct 28 additional new stores in 2023. Yesway sells private label snacks and beverages at its locations, along with prepared food items.

"Over the course of his long-standing tenure at Brookwood, Tom has made outstanding contributions to the firm as an esteemed member of our senior management team.  He is extremely well respected by colleagues and clients in the private equity, commercial real estate, and convenience retailing realms for his astute knowledge and depth of experience," said Tom Trkla, chairman and CEO of Brookwood, and chairman, president and CEO of Yesway.  "Having worked side by side with Tom for nearly 30 years, I am excited about this next chapter for the company, and look forward to him providing even more guidance and support as Yesway continues to grow.  I could not be more pleased to celebrate his achievements."

Prior to joining Brookwood in 1994, Brown was a vice president of Winthrop Management, a wholly owned subsidiary of Winthrop Financial Associates, a Boston-based real estate investment and management firm. He is a graduate of the University of Texas and received a Master of Business Administration from the University of Dallas.  In 2018, Brown completed the Oxford Strategic Leadership Programme at the University of Oxford's Saïd Business School.

Headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas, Yesway operates 435 stores located in Texas, New Mexico, South Dakota, Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Wyoming, Oklahoma and Nebraska.