Manzoline named chairman of PLMA Board of Directors

Lisa Manzoline

Lisa Manzoline, director of national accounts for Reynolds Consumer Products Inc., was elected chairman of the board of directors for the Private Label Manufacturers Association (PLMA) during the association’s recent 2018 Annual Meeting and Leadership Conference in Bonita Springs, Fla.

Manzoline said it was an “extraordinary privilege” to take on the role for the next year to serve the association and the store brands industry.

“Over the last 30 years, I have worked in private label, both food and non-foods,” Manzoline noted. “Like so many of you, I have been a witness and participant — as well as a beneficiary — of the tremendous growth of PLMA and store brands. Looking to the year ahead, let’s make the most of this moment to think about all of the important changes that are taking place in our industry. As PLMA gets ready to celebrate its 40th anniversary in 2019, I think we all would agree today’s store brands bear little resemblance to the private label of 1979.”

As manufacturers, Manzoline said it’s important to continue focusing on what future change will look like, and companies need to prepare to supply their retailer customers with their wants and needs.

“Their wants and needs could very possibly be something that they themselves have yet to see or experience in store brands,” she added.

Clay Dockery, vice president of corporate brands for Massimo Zanetti Beverage USA, was elected first vice chairman, and John Schaefer, vice president of sales for Aspen Products Inc., was elected second vice chairman.

Five individuals were elected to the board for three-year terms from 2018-2021: Dan Muller, Merisant; Kevin Kollach, Gehl Foods; Todd Mulane, Berner Food & Beverage; Marc Robinson, Global Tissue Group; and Kelly McGolrich, Shearer’s Foods. Elected to fill two vacancies on the board, expiring 2020, were Troy Pelak, Perrigo Co., and Ron Hodges, McCain Foods USA. Linda Lee, C. H. Guenther & Son, was elected to fill a vacancy on the board expiring 2019.

Continuing members of the board include: Kevin O’Flaherty, ASO; Jo Osborn, Bay Valley Foods; Mike Cunningham, Dakota Growers Pasta Co.; Doug Bausch, LNK International; Evan Dobkins, Old Dutch Mustard Co.; Steve Morris, Paramount Coffee Co.; and Bill McKee, Simmons Pet Foods. Jim Shuster, The Shuster Group, continues to serve on the board representing PLMA member brokers, while Bill McKay, Symrise, represents PLMA member suppliers. Former Chairman Dean Erstad, Seneca Foods Corp., continues to serve ex officio as a member of the board, and Arthur Handler, Arthur M. Handler Law Offices, continues as General Counsel.